A “Sick” Way to Spend Spring Break

Hey, Hawks!

I hope that you guys had a great spring break. We all needed this week-long break, did we not? I had originally planned to study and catch up on some classes, but things never go as planned.

I ended up catching a cold that knocked me off my feet. I spent most of my break sleeping it off. Do not get me wrong—I love sleep and was probably in need of a good rest, but I wish I could have been more productive. Fortunately, I felt better during the last few days and was able to work on a good deal of things.

Clearly, I did not do anything exciting like go out of town or even to the beach, but I still had an overall nice time. My grandma came over from Mexico, so I got to spend some time with her and eat some delicious authentic Mexican food. It was really fun to hang out with her. We both love watching movies, so we usually just rent a whole bunch and spend the whole day on the couch, eating popcorn and bingeing through our selection.

On Wednesday, a few friends and I went to the Museum of Contemporary Art in Houston. I had never been there before, so I did not know what to expect. I love art, especially cotemporary because the meaning behind a piece is sometimes hidden and this allows for various interpretations. The museum itself is quite small, but they had a great selection of pieces that really made me think. Afterwards, we walked around Houston and looked at statues nearby. We had planned to go to the Health Museum, but we could not find parking. I guess it was not very smart of us to go to museums in the middle of Spring Break. We will try to go on a weekday when we are off break, so that there are fewer people.

On Thursday, I met my girlfriend’s roommate’s new cat! She is precious and I already really love her. I have never had a cat of my own, so I am excited to see her do cat stuff around the house. She is super sweet and loves cuddling, which is perfect. Our only worry is that George, my girlfriend’s dog, will attack her. As of now, they have not met, but hopefully they will soon—and hopefully all will be well when they do.

That night, I went to the premiere of Beauty and the Beast! I am not actually a fan of that particular fairytale (frankly, the premise of it kind of disturbs me), but I thoroughly enjoyed the film. I thought it was amazing, especially the songs. I am a sucker for musicals, so that may be a reason why. The acting, wardrobe, and special effects were spectacular too, though. The next day, I went to the movies again, but this time I saw Kong. It was also a really good movie, especially if you liked previous King Kong films.

That is pretty much all I did this week. I hope that you guys had a fun and relaxing spring break!

Until next time, Hawks!

– Natalia

 

Leave a Reply

