So Many Meetings!

Hey, Hawks!

I hope that you all had another great week at school. Mine has been very eventful and exciting! Thankfully, I only had one exam this week, so it was already off to a good start.

On Saturday, I walked around Bay Area Park, looking at birds for a birdwatching assignment. It was such a peaceful and interesting experience. I used to think that birdwatching was boring and, frankly, kind of lame; but while I was walking around, I found myself having a really nice time. The weather was lovely, there were so many families at the park, and I had the company of my best friend and girlfriend. We spotted several birds that we did not know the names of, so we used a cool app called Audobon Birds to identify them. The app not only included the species name and picture, but also a brief description, a map of where they are found, and even an audio of what they sound like.

On Tuesday, I volunteered at The Office Viewing Party, hosted by CAB. This was the final step of finally becoming an official CAB member. It was exciting because now I get to be in a specific committee. They put me in the Entertainment Committee, which is actually what I wanted.

On Thursday, I had my first CAB Entertainment Committee meeting! Later that day, I attended the Kahoot Trivia Night, also hosted by CAB. I won a couple of times, but since I became an official CAB member, I was not actually allowed to get a prize. Regardless, it was super fun and they had colorful waffles.

Afterwards, I attended the Flash Fiction event, hosted by the Writing Center in front of the UHCL Art Gallery. Faculty from the Humanities department read poetry inspired by the art currently on exhibition. This was followed by an open mic. It was a beautiful event altogether and I am very glad that I got a chance to witness it. I was inspired to write a poem myself during a 15 minute break between guest speakers and the open mic. I wish I could have read it out, but I did not have time. The poem will now just exist on my iPhone notes app until I find out what to do with it. I have submitted a few pieces to The Signal, but this particular poem is a bit personal and I do not know if I want it online. Either way, I think that just the process of writing (or typing) it out brought me a sense of serenity.

On Friday, I had a Chili Cook-Off Committee meeting, where we finally picked our team and chili recipe. Then, HLI second-years got together with other student leaders and we went on a leadership retreat. We stayed at Trinity Pines, which is incredibly beautiful, and had a truly amazing time together. There are no words I can think of to describe how moving, motivating, inspiring, and heartwarming the experience was. I learned a lot about myself – both as a leader and a person. It was, without a doubt, the best retreat I have ever been to. There were no dull moments or times I wished I could be somewhere else. I was exactly where I wanted to be and I was doing exactly what I wanted to do – grow.

The Leadership Retreat is hosted by SLICE and offered every Spring semester. There is an application process and small fee, but it is definitely worth it. I highly recommend this retreat to every student at UHCL.

That is pretty much everything that I did this week. I hope that y’all had great moments too.

Until next time, Hawks!

– Natalia

Leave a Reply

