A lot of Studying, Volunteer Work, and Homework!

Hey, Hawks!

I hope that you had another great week here at UHCL. Mine consisted of a lot of studying, volunteer work, and homework. I know that it does not sound like a lot of fun, but not all weeks are exciting—that is just reality. At the end of the day, it was a very productive week, though.

I spent an entire day at school (8 AM – 10PM) simply catching up on all of my schoolwork. I wrote two lab reports, completed three homework assignments, and caught up on some textbook reading. It was basically a very intense study session, with little breaks in between each assignment. Of course it was not all that fun, but it needed to be done.

I also have my very first exam coming up this week, so my entire weekend consisted of my going over physiology notes rather than getting ready for the Super Bowl. I will admit that I am not a huge football fan, but I do enjoy emotional commercials and bean dip. Regardless, on exam day, I will be happy with how I chose to spend the weekend.

On Thursday, I volunteered at the volleyball event hosted by CAB. I am not very into sports myself, but it was still a lot of fun.

On Friday, I went back to Bay Area Pet Adoptions with my HLI family and we planned out our volunteer activities for the rest of the semester. It is very exciting to think about all of the amazing things that we have got ahead of us this semester. Hopefully, we will organize a fundraiser on campus! Keep your eyes out for that.

I also volunteered on Saturday, which was Hawk Premier. If you are not familiar with the event, it is basically an open house-type of thing, where potential UHCL students visit our campus. There were several informational booths in both atriums so that visitors could learn more about us. I was at the SLICE booth speaking to people about HLI. It was really nice getting to know people who could potentially join HLI. I am excited for their journey with us.

As you can see, it has been a very busy week. And I do not think the pace is going to be slowing down for next week. I will let you guys know.

I hope y’all had a fun week (or at least a productive one).

Until next time, Hawks!

– Natalia

Leave a Reply

