Patience is the Key to Success

Hey Hawks!

I hope that everyone has been having another great week at UHCL. This week has been nothing but me running about everywhere, trying to get things done. I have been semi-successful.

I finally went to the eye doctor to get new glasses, much to my friends’ relief. I have been complaining about my eyesight for months now, and it has even become a hindrance when driving. Hopefully my new glasses will come in this week. They are green, so I will be walking around with blue hair and green glasses—talk about school pride!

images-2I have also been working on way too many projects, but I cannot really complain considering they were assigned ages ago and I have just been procrastinating. What is college without some procrastination, though, right? As with everything in life, however, there must be some level of moderation. This week, I ended up having to drop one of my classes because I was so behind and could not afford it negatively affecting my GPA. Instead, I am going to take the class over the summer, so that I can get a decent grade on it. Dropping a class is bittersweet—I feel guilty for giving up, but I am also highly relieved that I have much less stress to worry about. In the end, I think it was a smart decision. It is always hard to drop classes, but I know it is not the end of the world. For example, a few semesters ago, I dropped Intro to Psychology and felt really bad about it. However, I am taking it this semester and have above an A in the class! It just goes to show that there is a time for everything, and you have just got to make those tough decisions for your own betterment.

In other news, HLI finally had their canine training, which means that we will now be able to volunteer directly with the dogs at Bay Area Pet Adoptions. While there, I met the sweetest pup in the world. Her name is Pepper. She is around 4 years old, has a heart murmur, is partially blind, and may not have much time left to live. Despite these health problems, she is a happy doggy who deserves a fur-ever home. I am in the process of convincing my dad to let me adopt her. I will keep you posted.

That’s it for this week, Hawks! Until next time.

Natalia

 

Leave a Reply

