Mid-Terms and Animal Shelters

Hey Hawks!

I hope that you guys have had another great week. I honestly think that this past week has been the most stressful so far. I know that I keep saying that every week, but it just keeps getting worse! It’s OK, though, because midterms have passed and I believe that this upcoming week will be full of fun things!

unspecified-4I had another two midterms this past week, which I know I did not do my best on. It sucks when that happens, but I think it is important to remember that grades do not define us. They are not an accurate reflection of our intelligence and, much less, of our worth. Yeah, it’s important to have good grades because it opens up a ton of opportunities in the long run, but the truth is that one bad grade is not going to ruin your life. You have to pick yourself up and learn from your mistakes so that you can improve. And if you still get low grades, then you can always reach out to the various free tutors on campus. (However, it is not recommended for you to wait until the very last second to seek help). I know that these two bad grades do not reflect who I am as a person or what I am capable of.  What they do reflect, however, is that I have been slacking off in those particular classes and need to really get it together. I am determined to do so!

There were a few good things that happened this week, though. I ran for Pre-Vet Chair of PHSA (Pre-Health and Science Association) and, since I am the only one who ran, I got it! I am very excited about it, because UHCL does not currently have a lot of pre-veterinary opportunities and I want to change that. I plan to bring light to many events that could benefit pre-vet majors, such as volunteer events, special guest speakers, and even field trips to places such as the zoo or aquarium.

To end the week on a good note, I went to an animal shelter with my friend, Madi Stults, so that she could adopt a doggy. We met the most beautiful, majestic and friendly dog ever! His name is Grizzly, and I cannot wait to be his favorite aunt. I also met and fell in love with a beautiful cat. She was so lovely, I could just eat her up. I played with her for a little while and she gave me love bites and climbed up my leg. I just wanted to put her in my pocket and run, but then I remembered that involves a lot of actual physical movement.

That’s it from me, Hawks. See you next week!

Natalia Marfil

Leave a Reply

