Week 4 Was Full of Stress and a UHCL Bookstore Sale!

Hey Hawks!

I hope that you have all had another great week at UHCL. Mine has been incredibly eventful, so get ready!

My week started out normally enough, with assignments, classes, and an overflow of e-mails. (Am I the only person who is annoyed by the fact that my inbox keeps filling up and I have to keep deleting items?) I would say that my classes are going well, considering I have not had a major stress-related freak out about any of them (thus far), and I hope that things continue to run this smoothly throughout the remainder of the semester. It’s a stretch, I know, but it seems that planning out my whole semester in advance has proven to be super effective.

The highlight of my week was probably the 50% off sale at the UHCL bookstore. I have always wanted a UHCL sweater, but I have never been willing to spend that much money on one. With the sale, however, I managed to get a sweater that was originally priced at $59.98 for just $14.99! I was ecstatic to say the least. I wasn’t even planning on going into the bookstore that day, but I had half an hour of free time between class and a psychology study that I participated in.

unspecified-3This semester, I am taking Introduction to Psychology, so I have to complete 3 credits of SONA participation. This basically means that I am a guinea pig for several psychological experiments. So far I have accumulated 1.5 credits, so I am already halfway done! I have my second and last study scheduled for this week, which will be worth the other 1.5 credits, and then I will be all set. It’s pretty interesting to be a part of these experiments, to be honest. I have always found psychology to be incredibly fascinating. (It was almost my major at some point).

On Friday, I had my driving test. I know what you’re thinking: “Aren’t you like 18?” And the answer is, actually, no – I am 20. Regardless, I know that I am way overdue in terms of getting my license, but I am a procrastinator at heart and quite possibly the laziest person that I know. I was insanely nervous and worried this entire week, thinking that I would probably fail the parallel parking portion of the test. I practiced every day, and even stayed out until nearly 11 PM the day before my test so that I could perfect the parking with and without using my backup camera. It was definitely worth it in the end, and I passed with a 92! I was really happy, but, more than that, I was also relieved to know that I wouldn’t have to undergo that particularly stressful event again.

On Saturday, I visited Bay Area Pet Adoptions, an animal shelter around 20 minutes away from campus. I went as part of HLI, since that’s where we are focusing our year-long community service project. We attended an hour long volunteer orientation, during which we got a tour of the facility. I fell in love with at least 10 dogs and 5 cats. I cannot wait to go back!

I hope that you guys had a great week too!

Until next time,

Natalia

Leave a Reply

