Starting off the Semester on the Right Foot

Hey, Hawks!

There goes another week at UHCL. Quizzes, exams, and assignments are beginning to sneak their way in, and that well-known college-level stress is creeping up on us. The only advice that I can give you is to avoid procrastination as soon and as much as you can. I know that you guys will probably procrastinate anyway (and I will too), but it’s worth a shot.

Speaking of school-work that’s more than just memorizing a syllabus, I had my first chemistry exam and first psychology quiz this week. Somehow I managed to get 108% and 105%, respectively. I’m not exactly sure how that happened, but I’m not going to question it. I’m taking it as a good sign that I have started out this semester on the right foot. My goal is to get all A’s again this semester.

Speaking of goals, I had my one-on-one meeting with my HLI success coach, and we have begun to plan my goals for this semester. The first is to not only keep my high GPA, but also to become more active and involved on campus. That means joining student organizations, becoming an officer, volunteering, attending events, etc. My second goal is to find a hobby. I realized thaunspecified-2t I don’t put enough time aside for myself. I used to play guitar, write poetry, and read books on a regular basis. Now all I really do is study, work, sleep, and eat. I think I deserve a bit of a break now and then, right? It’s going to be tricky to balance schoolwork, extracurricular activities, and whatever hobby I decide to pursue, though.  I’ll keep y’all updated.

Not only was this the first week of real schoolwork, but it was also the first week when I had to grade papers for the Freshman Year Seminar class (also known as Learning Frameworks). I’ll admit that it took me an embarrassingly long time to get through all of them, but I think I am really getting the hang of it now. I found myself reading a few surprisingly excellent paper
s and a few not-so-surprisingly not-so-great papers. I am confident that by end of the semester, the former will be more common than the latter.

Anyway, now that I’m done with all of my homework for the week, I should take this time to do something besides sleeping. Otherwise, my free time will run out before I even know it, and I’ll be dealing with piles upon piles of assignments. Today, I found an old book that I never finished so I might just start reading it again. Maybe I’ll call that my new hobby.

Until next time Hawks!

Natalia

Leave a Reply

