Junior Year Is Looking Good!

Hey, Hawks!

I hope you had a nice second week of class. Hopefully by now, you are not still getting lost or looking up cheap textbooks to buy online. I know it’s hard to back into the groove of things after a whole summer off, so Labor Day weekend couldn’t have come soon enough.

I have been surprisingly on task with all of my classes, which really just means that my social life is basically nonexistent. I don’t mind it much, though. I have most of my classes with really close friends, so I get to spend time with them regardless.

HLI has also been super exciting so far. We are getting ready to volunteer at the Bay Area Animal Shelter soon, and I cannot wait to hang out with all the doggies and kittens. Not only will this be an opportunity to build up my resume for Veterinary School at A&M, but I am going to get to spend time doing something meaningful with my best friends. HLI is truly one of the most rewarding things I have ever been a part of.  unspecified

Being a peer mentor for the Freshman Year Seminar is also turning out to be worthwhile! I attended training on Friday, so now the actual working begins. I am excited to work with all of my mentees, get to know them, and help them develop their critical thinking skills. If all turns out as expected, I might do this again during upcoming semesters. I’ll keep you posted.

In other news, I attended the art gallery’s current exhibition: Fearful Symmetries by feminist artist Faith Wilding. It would be an understatement to say that both the art and the artist are phenomenal. I am surprised every time I get the chance to experience artwork I have never seen before, or to speak with artists who are willing to share their passion with me. If you haven’t gone over to see the exhibit, I encourage you to do so. It will be open to the public up until December 8th, 2016.

I hope you have had an equally eventful, inspiring, and fulfilling week at UHCL.

Until next time,

Natalia

Leave a Reply

