HLI Ceremonies and the End of the Semester

Hey, Hawks! I hope you all had a really great week.

Are y’all as excited as I am? We are so close to the end of the semester. Just one more week of classes and finals, and then we’re out of here. Of course, we’ve got to get through what’s arguably the most stressful time of the entire semester. At least the therapy puppies are coming back!

hli%20banquet%202My week was pretty eventful. My family had a two-day mini golf event in Freeport. We had a lot more people come out and play than we usually do. To celebrate, we went to see “The Jungle Book” afterwards. I’ve never been much of a “The Jungle Book” fan, but I highly recommend the new film.

On Friday, the university had its 38th annual Student Leadership Banquet at Space Center Houston. It was put on to celebrate an amazing school year, and to award those students who showed memorable leadership skills throughout 2015 and 2016. The night began with a nice dinner surrounded by various astronaut suits. Afterward, we moved to the IMAX Theater for the awards ceremony. I received a plaque for completing my first year of HLI, which was exciting. The best part was watching my friends get recognized for their hard work. Some of them even got scholarships!

It was a nice way to end my first year with HLI. It’s sad, as I’ve said before, to see some people go, but hopefully we’ll still get to see them around campus. The people in HLI and I really grew close this year. They’re all like my second family. I’m excited to watch this family grow! Next semester, I’m going to have a few “little siblings” of my own.

After the ceremony, I stayed home and babysat my brother for the weekend. It gave me some time to catch up on several of my shows: “Once Upon a Time,” “Bates Motel,” “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt” and “The 100.” I also finally started reading again, which is something I’ve always loved to do. I’ve just not had enough time lately. I’m reading “The Solitude of Prime Numbers” by Paolo Giordano. I’ve only read the first 10 chapters, but I’m already loving it. I highly recommend it if you like coming of age dramas.

Until next week, Hawks!

-Natalia

Leave a Reply

