Radio Stars and Floods

Hey Hawks!

I hope you guys had a nice week and kept dry this weekend! I had a lot of things going on, so last week actually went by really fast. All my midterms are over, so now I can focus on studying for those finals. I am so ready for this semester to be over!

Friday was HLI’s Spring Social. We ate pizza, had ice cream, played board games and just hung out. There are several of our members who are leaving HLI next semester, so it was a bittersweet event. We also got our certificates for completing our first year in HLI, which was exciting. All that hard work volunteering, going to workshops and partaking in leadership activities paid off. This upcoming Friday is our actual graduation at the Johnson Space Center, so I’m still looking forward to that.

krystinaAlso on Friday, my family and I went to an Earth Day festival in downtown Houston. It was really fun to see so many people interested in bettering our planet’s environment. My favorite thing (by far) was getting to meet my favorite radio star: Krystina Ramey from Houston’s 104.1 KRBE. She’s part of the radio station’s morning show: “The Roula and Ryan Show.” I listen to that show religiously every morning on my way to school. She was incredibly nice, and let me take a few pictures with her.

The rest of the weekend and the beginning of this week was quite hectic, as you can imagine. The flood had everyone on edge. I woke up Monday morning, got ready for school and even had breakfast, before I realized what was going on. Over in Alvin, there wasn’t much flooding at all, so I assumed it was just regular rain. My mom, who lives way out in West Houston, messaged me saying that most of the school districts had cancelled classes. She also said she wasn’t going to work because of flooding, and that she had lost power in her house.

After I knew the university wasn’t going to have class, I spent my morning studying and watching TV to catch all the latest weather news. It was all quite terrifying and devastating for a lot of people, but I’m glad that we didn’t get hit so hard over here. I’ve heard several students complaining about the fact that we’ve got class while other universities, such as the University of Houston, do not. However, I think we should consider ourselves fortunate that we didn’t have any major catastrophes as a result of the storm.

Anyway, I hope the rest of the week clears up, and we can all just go back to our regular schedules. I don’t need anything in the way of me finishing this semester!

Until next time, Hawks!

-Natalia

Leave a Reply

