Surprise! It’s Me! The Mascot!

Welcome back, Hawks! I hope you all had a wonderful week, and got the chance to eat some chili. This past weekend was the annual Chili Cook-Off. We had so many great contestants. I was astonished at the amount of people that were there!

12957636_1068815409859194_1428034844550649125_oSo…I was pretty busy at the Chili Cook-Off. I just want to come out and say that I’ve been living a double life for the past year. I, Eric Yanez, have been the school mascot. When I put that hawk suit on, I felt invincible. I knew nobody would know who I was, so I was free to act as goofy as I pleased. That was one of the greatest feelings in the world, I might add.

I was unveiled at the Chili Cook-Off. The amount of surprised people was outstanding! I honestly thought people would’ve guessed it was me, but to my surprise they had no idea.

Besides being at the center of attention for about 10 minutes, I also enjoyed tasting chili. Although I only tasted two chili recipes, I have to say Orientation had my favorite one. Orientation may not have won a trophy this year, but they did win over my taste buds. Of course, there was so many themes to look at such as Delta Xi Nu’s “Netflix and Chili” and even HLI’s “Zombie Leadership Institute!” (Maybe I should have checked for brains in that chili…)

Well, that’s it for this week guys. This week has been very hectic! Finals are coming up, and I hope I can handle it. I’m worried I might not pass chemistry, but I’m giving it all I’ve got. Hopefully it’s enough to get me through!

Until next week. Have a great week, Hawks!

-Eric

Leave a Reply

