In Sickness and Health

sickselfieHey Hawks!

Hope you’re well. Cough. Sneeze. Sniffle. I’m homebound, bed-ridden and possibly contagious but still keeping spirits up! It’s been a long week, hasn’t it? Now that school has fully started, homework is given out daily and projects are already piling up. I keep wondering when the next break is going to be. Adding sickness to the business of college probably isn’t the best thing.

The Student Org Expo was this past week, and that was quite fun! I got to see lots of friends who were volunteering at booths to promote their organizations and signed up to several emailing lists. I’ve already started receiving messages about upcoming meetings. I’ve decided that I’m going to go to as many first/informational meetings as I can, so I can really get a feel of what the organizations are like before I commit to anything.

In other news, I’ve gone back to volunteering at animal shelters. I missed hanging out with lots of doggies and kittens. They’re really great company. Sure, feeding them, walking them and even cleaning up after them isn’t the most fun in the world, but it’s worth it to get a break from the stress of school, home and whatnot.

All in all, it’s been a good week, just with a bit of a rough ending. Of course, I’d be the type to get insanely sick twice in one month. What’s worse is that I’m actually (for the first time at Clear Lake) missing class. I emailed my professors beforehand, and I already know where I’m going to get the notes I’ve missed, but it’s still not something I enjoy. It’s still a setback, though minor. Plus, this upcoming Monday I was supposed to present my first speech in my public speaking class. Thankfully, my professor agreed to postpone it.

I hope you guys had an awesome week that didn’t end in illness. If it did, I’m sorry and I feel you. If it didn’t, then take some time to enjoy the fact that you are healthy. We seem to take that for granted until we’re actually sick ourselves, don’t we?

Until next week!

-Natalia

Leave a Reply

