What’s School?

“What’s school?”

That’s the question that’s been in my head since the holiday break started. It’s fine though, because I have been preparing myself mentally for school to start again. Knowing that I have only five semesters left until graduation brings my motivation up. Soon it’s going to be syllabus day! (For me, that basically means hoping we get out of class early.)

12604658_1015475521859850_1783004006743320841_oAside from being taunted by school, I had a lot of fun during my break. There was Netflix and…well, that’s about it. (I’m kidding! I also watched Hulu!)

Santa was a little poor this year, but it’s not about the presents. It’s about family. Now that I’m pretty much a “grown up”, I would rather have a family day instead of gifts. All I was unwrapping this holiday season were tamales! Although the tamales were great, it wouldn’t have been the same if I didn’t have great people to spend it with. I would have to say this Christmas was the best I’ve ever had. (Aside from being visited by Krampus instead of Santa, but that’s a whole other story.)

A new year means a new me is in development. I would like to get fit and eat healthier. Last semester I saw a picture of myself and thought, “Damn, I’m getting fat.” Before the break, I was on a roll. I was exercising and eating healthy, but as the holidays got closer I slipped out of my routine. (I mean, who doesn’t love momma’s cooking?) Now that the holidays are over, I’m back to trying to get healthy. Let’s hope I can keep this up!

Over the break, I also got into the habit of going to sleep at 4 a.m.…every single day. (Black Ops and Minecraft don’t go well with sleep.) This habit needs to stop. If I’m going to succeed this semester, I’m going to have to break up with my X-BOX for a while.

Another event that helped ease me into the thought of going back to school (aside from all the school related nightmares I had) was Orientation. Being back helping students through their long days is a feeling I missed. Orientation helped get my year off to a good start.

This holiday break felt short. A month and a half felt like a week and a half. Let’s just hope this semester goes by that fast. Until next week! Good luck on the first week classes, Hawks!

-Eric

Leave a Reply

