Vacation, Schedules and Back to School

Welcome back, Hawks!

I hope that you all had a wonderful winter break, whether it was with family, friends or Netflix. Compared to how much time high schoolers get, we get lots of time off. It’s weird how fast it goes, though, isn’t it? I can’t believe I’m already back, carrying around a backpack that weighs more than the average toddler.

snowmanDon’t get me wrong, I actually quite missed this place. As much as I love sleeping well into the afternoon, I didn’t get to spend as much time with friends as I do when I’m in school. After spending a week in Mexico, lots of nights playing non-stop video games with my brother, Christmas with lots of family (and presents) and New Year’s skiing down a mountain, it’s nice to come back and calm down from all that excitement.

I’m excited about this semester. I’ll be taking biology 2 (which involves dissecting things –always fun), history, pre-calculus and public speaking. I’m not terribly worried about any of them, but I know that I’ll still have to stay really focused so I can keep up my GPA. Plus, now that I’m falling back into a regular schedule, I can go back to volunteering regularly at various animal shelters!

Another semester at UHCL also means another semester as part of HLI. A few days before to the beginning of the spring semester, HLI had a retreat at the Armand Bayou Nature Center. It was a great opportunity to reconnect with other HLI members, while participating in fun team-building activities, volunteering to help create a children’s garden for the center and even visiting a couple of hawks they have in captivity.

2016 is off to a good start, so I have high hopes for this semester. Fingers crossed, right?

Until next week, Hawks!

-Natalia

Leave a Reply

