Return to Reality

Happy Thanksgiving, Hawks! I hope you guys had a lovely (and very needed) break. It’s kind of hard to come back to reality after nearly a week of laziness, family and food. I did not do any kind of work at all during the holiday. If anyone asks me for homework, I’ll quote Ross Geller from the sitcom “Friends”: “We were on a break!”

I’m not a big fan of turkey, but that didn’t stop me. Being Mexican, I rarely celebrate Thanksgiving. Last year, I think I actually went to bed without dinner. This year was different, though. My grandma really wanted to celebrate Thanksgiving. I couldn’t say “no” to her. I’m glad I didn’t. The food was yummy, the company was nice and the conversation ended up being about ghosts. I can’t exactly complain.

nataliaI spent most of my break locked up at home binge-watching “How to Get Away with Murder” and “Bates Motel.” I also re-watched old movies like “Psycho.” The only time I left my house was to hang out with the doggies and kittens at the animal shelter where I volunteer and to briefly visit NASA.

I’m not particularly interested in NASA. I love the idea of space exploration, but the actual Space Center is really boring to me. It might be because I’ve gone so many times that I’ve lost count. Either way, my little step-brothers wanted to go, so we went for a bit and took some pictures with the planes outside.

The weather’s been nice, hasn’t it? Well, I guess not really. I’m a big fan of the crisp cold. It gives me that Christmas-y feeling – which reminds me, now that Thanksgiving has passed, it’s time to put up the Christmas lights!

Now that I’m back in reality, I have to catch up on all the work I didn’t do over the break, which includes working on projects and studying for finals. Great fun. At least the doggies are going to be back in the library.

Good luck with finals, everybody!

-Natalia

Leave a Reply

