Studying with purple hair

Hey, Hawks! I hope y’all had a nice week. Mine was probably one of the busiest I’ve had in a while, and next week isn’t looking too chill either. It’s all right, though. My stress levels are yet to become critical, even with midterms around every corner.

Speaking of midterms, I have some fantastic news! I’ve scored 100 percent on all of the midterms I’ve taken so far. My GPA is looking fantastic, so I’m hoping to keep this positive energy going for the rest of midterms. Studying isn’t fun, but the feeling of getting an ‘A‘ is entirely worth it.

A few exam tips I’ve learned (most of them the hard way):

Study every day, if you can. I know a lot of professors and advisors say that, and we tend to brush them off with: “How can they expect us to study every single day? That’s ridiculous.” Then the exams come, and we get a ‘B’ or a ‘C’, instead of the ‘A’ we could have gotten if we’d studied more. Try it out for the next exam, and I can almost guarantee that you will see a difference.

Index cards are your best friends. Use them however works best for you. I like the idea of having to re-write what I’ve already written in my notes. Writing it over and over just helps you memorize better. Then you can use the index cards to quiz yourself!

If you don’t understand something, ask your professor, a TA, another student or even Google. For biology, there were several moments where I was confused about a certain molecule or such. I’d Google it and find animations, pictures that helped me understand what the book meant, etc. In courses like math or sciences, the information is not just in your textbook.

Actually remember when your test is. Write it down, set a reminder, mark in in your calendar… whatever helps. I totally forgot I had an exam until the morning of the exam! It was quite stressful, to say the least. Thankfully, I managed to remember the basics from lecture.

If you do get an ‘A’ (or any other grade you’re happy about) be proud of yourself, but don’t brag. It’s a nice feeling, of course, but you don’t want to shove it in people’s faces. Especially so when they’re already feeling down about their grade. Instead, perhaps offer to tutor them or create a study group.

nataliaIf you study hard and still get a grade you’re unhappy with, don’t give up! Consider talking to the professor and asking where exactly you went wrong so you can learn from your mistakes. Visit tutors at the Student Success Center, the Math Center or the Writing Center. They’re all here for you. I mean, you already paid for them, so you might as well go. It might take an hour or two out of your schedule, but it will help you lots in the long run.

Before I sign off, one quick announcement: I no longer have blue hair! I know, it’s tragic. I already miss it, but I needed a change. Don’t worry; you’ll still be able to spot me in a crowd. My hair is now purple. It’s a bit brighter than I’d wanted, but it’ll wash out in time and get lighter. I’m going for that grunge-y/tumblr-y look. We’ll see how that goes…

Until next week, Hawks!

-Natalia

Leave a Reply

