I Heart UHCL and Doggies

Howdy, Hawks! I hope your week’s been sensational. I Heart UHCL Day last Wednesday, Oct. 14, offered lots of cool games and the chance to get an I Heart UHCL shirt in Atrium II. I hope you went out and showed your school spirit! I’ve already got that blue/green hair thing going on, so I suppose that counts, right?

Lots of non-I Heart UHCL Day events were also taking place. For example, on Friday I got the opportunity to participate in SLICE’s “Dealing with Difficult People” workshop. That was both fun and interesting.

I took a couple of midterms this week and have a few more to go, but I would say that I’ve got it under control…as of now. I studied my behind off for a month preparing for my Biology exam, which I think really paid off. Unfortunately, I think I focused way too much on that particular midterm and totally forgot about my college algebra test. Whoops. All was well though, because that class hasn’t given me much difficulty.

blog                  I also hope you guys made it out to the Study Paws event in the library to de-stress and pet some insanely cute doggies. They were the sweetest, cutest, softest pups ever! If you couldn’t make it, though, don’t worry. They’ll be back during finals to prevent us from having mental breakdowns over our exams. Doggies really are angels sent from heaven.

                  Speaking of doggies, of course, this weekend I completed my training with the Citizens for Animal Protection (CAP) animal shelter. I got to walk several dogs, learned how to properly put a harness on them, cleaned a visiting room, played with cats, etc. Now, I can officially walk in whenever I want and do whatever volunteer job I fancy doing that day. The activities include: walking dogs, helping customers, feeding animals, socializing cats and doing general clean-up of the facility.

Well, that’s about it for this week Hawks! Keep studying for those midterms!

-Natalia

Leave a Reply

