The Future Is a Scary Place

Hope everyone had an amazing week! Now it’s time to bring all your UHCL pride and spirit out! This week is I Heart UHCL week, and it is the one time a year we can go all out with blue and green pride. I’m going to need this positive energy to help me take a brief break from all my worries.

The Future Road Sign with dramatic clouds and sky.Being a sophomore this year, I am much more stressed than I was in my freshman year. My main fear is that I won’t be able to handle the classes to come. Year after year, I get new fears that involve college. I’m guessing its normal — if not, I guess I’m just a scaredy cat. Freshman year, I was afraid I wouldn’t be involved on campus, but I managed to face that fear. This year it’s more on the academic side. I’m starting to realize that I don’t have much more time before I graduate. Even though it still seems like a ways ahead, 2 1/2 years is not that much time. My main concern for the future is not being able to find a job. It’s this kind of thing that freaks me out.

All our lives, we are told to stay in school and focus on getting an education. My parents were really emphasizing this to me and my siblings. Being the first of my family to attend college, I feel like I have a big weight on my back that I can’t drop. I have to make my parents, as well as myself, proud by reaching the end of the college experience. I have met so many great people that can help me reach my goal, and I won’t stop until I get there.

On a more positive note, I Heart UHCL will be a great experience and a chill break from studying. This week is going to be full of so many great events, but I’m looking forward to the campus recess and kickball tournament. I’m pretty competitive, and I can’t wait to win!

Well, that’s it for this week Hawks. Hope you all have a great I Heart UHCL week and don’t forget to study for mid-terms. Until next week!

-Eric

Leave a Reply

