Doggies and Selfies

It’s been an awesome week again, Hawks! I have, as always, been studying my behind off for the upcoming midterms. I genuinely spend more time in the library than I do in actual classrooms. Hopefully, this will all pay off.

Do you guys remember when I talked about seeking out volunteer opportunities atCitizens for Animal Protection (CAP)? Well, I started my training as an official volunteer this weekend. I got to spend time around a lot of cute little doggies. They gave me lots of cute little doggie kisses. I honestly could not be happier about this opportunity. I’m so excited to tell you guys all about it, once I officially start!

My duties as a volunteer will include cleaning cages, walking dogs, socializing cats, feeding the animals, etc. The animals, by the way, are a colorful bunch. We have dogs, cats, bunnies, hamsters, rats, guinea pigs, iguanas, ferrets and sometimes even snakes. I don’t see myself ever having a bored day at the shelter!

Speaking of doggies, and just as a reminder, there will be puppies at the library this week! I am totally going to be there the whole time because I just cannot get enough puppy love. They will there, ready for pets and cuddles, Monday, Oct. 12 from 5:30 – 6:30 p.m. and Tuesday, Oct. 13, from 3 – 4 p.m.

12141702_10205133059627637_3784307751491635787_n

Also, going to events on campus really is a lot more fun than you’d expect. Just the other day, I went to a talk in the art gallery. The artist and speaker, Bernadette Esperanza Torres, turned out to be such a delight and genuine inspiration. She spoke of the processes in which her ceramic art came to life, what each piece represented and what we can expect from her future artwork. She is a cheerful soul with a lively personality that simply brightened the room. Not to mention, her artwork is exceptionally intriguing and beautiful. I even had the pleasure of having a nice chat with her before she pulled me in for a selfie.

All in all, this week was not bad at all. Talk to you soon, Hawks!

-Natalia

Leave a Reply

