My dreams are getting closer to reality

Hey, Hawks! Hope you all had another great week. Those tests really do keep piling up, huh? Remember to give yourself enough time to relax and sleep. There’s no need to burn yourself out. Plus, sleep actually helps your brain process your short-term memories and turn them into long-term ones, so you can actually remember what you studied for on the day of the test. If you don’t believe me, just take a psychology course (or watch “Inside Out”).

Things have been going a bit slow for me, I suppose. I’ve spent the majority of my time on campus in the library studying and doing homework. In any case, the library will save us all from the midterm madness. Monday, Oct. 12 and Tuesday, Oct. 13 (from 5:30 – 6:30 p.m. and 3 – 4 p.m., respectively) the Alfred R. Neumann Library will be hosting an event called Study Paws. It’s a chance to play, cuddle and interact with therapy dogs, trained to help you de-stress. Now, doesn’t that just sound like the best thing ever?

Over at UH-Main, they did a similar thing around finals. The dogs that were brought in were the sweetest and friendliest critters I’ve ever met. It really helps to take schoolwork off your mind. I know the point of coming to university is to learn, study and whatnot, but it’s just as important (if not more) to maintain stable mental health. With that said, I hope I see lots of you at the Study Paws event!

nataliaSpeaking of doggies, do you guys remember the charity organizations that came to UHCL last week? Well, one of them was Citizens for Animal Protection (CAP), a non-profit animal rescue shelter. This weekend I attended a volunteer information meeting and got to take a tour of the shelter. I fell in love. It is everything I could ever wish for in a volunteer opportunity! I’m excited because there’s a huge chance I can help out at their actual clinic, assisting in minor (spay and neutering) surgeries. As an aspiring vet, this is practically a dream come true.

I’ll keep you guys updated on my (mostly doggie-related) adventures. Stay happy, Hawks!

-Natalia

Leave a Reply

