Assignments are piling up and the on-campus events just keep on coming!

It sure has been a busy week, Hawks! Midterms are coming up, assignments are piling up and the on-campus events just keep on coming. You can’t say there isn’t anything to do at UHCL. (Well, I suppose you can, but you’d be lying.) There are flyers on nearly every wall, so it’s hard to miss anything.

Can we talk about how awesome it is that we get to see movies at the UHCL Theater for free? “Inside Out” changed me as a person, honestly. “The Minions” is also coming to UHCL Sept. 25, if you’re in the mood for a feel-good film. If family movies aren’t your thing, don’t fret! Titles like “Still Alice”, a film about a linguistics professor diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease and “The Hunting Ground”, an exposé of rape crimes on U.S. college campuses, are being shown Saturday, Sept. 26 and Wednesday, Oct. 7, respectively.

Another really cool event was the Library Carnival with prizes, arts and crafts, games and free cookies. It was simple and cute, but it was a great escape from the dull world of studying.

blog 4 img            If you need to de-stress by yourself, rather than in a room full of people, you can always just take a stroll to the park next door. When the weather isn’t too hot (or too humid because, you know, we’re in Houston after all) it’s a great place to find some peace and quiet. Just keep a watchful eye out for alligators, though!

In other news, I took my first biology exam (yikes), and there’s a lot more coming. I know people always say you need to study every day instead of spending the night before cramming for an exam. Well, it turned out that’s actually true. Don’t end up like me, opening the book for the first time at 10 o’clock on the night before an exam. Thankfully, I don’t think I did poorly, but I certainly learned my lesson. You’ll find me at the library during all my off periods now.

Speaking of biology, I’m thinking of changing my major from a B.A. degree in biology to a B.S. in biology because it satisfies more of my prerequisites for veterinary school at Texas A&M. It’s a struggle. Thankfully, UHCL has a lovely set of academic advisors. I made my appointment to sort this out and hopefully by next week my college career will get a lot clearer.

Last but not least, I finally moved into a house close enough to UHCL that I don’t have to wake up at the crack of dawn to get to class on time. If you see me around and I’m in a better mood than usual, that’s because now I’m actually awake.

Hope you all had a great week, Hawks! Until next time.

-Natalia

Leave a Reply

