Two Weeks In, Way-Too-Many-To-Count To Go!

Nothing says “welcome back” like a school-wide social with upbeat music, games, and (you guessed it!) free food. The Welcome Back Bash was, honestly, a lot more fun than I expected. After experiencing a handful of boring, unorganized and just plain sad welcome back pep rallies in high school, the success of the Welcome Back Bash really came as a surprise to me. It was a fantastic way to start the semester and to get to know a lot of new people. Everyone I’ve met at UHCL so far has been so friendly. (I wonder if it’s a Southern thing?)

Speaking of meeting new people, another great way to socialize (while at the same time adding things to your résumé) is joining student organizations. One of my new semester resolutions is to become more involved in extracurricular activities, so the Student Organization Expo could not have come at a better time. Astronomy Club, Student Social Work Organization, Music Club, Psychology Club, Unity Club – just to name a few I’m incredibly interested in – make me sure that this is going to be a super busy, super fun and super fulfilling semester.

Of course, it can’t all just be free hamburgers and talking about aliens. (Apparently that’s what they do in the Astronomy Club while they’re out stargazing. Who wouldn’t want to be a part of that?) Schoolwork has to remain my main focus. I suppose I’m doing an all right job; considering I spend most of my free time on campus in the library. (Call me a nerd. It’s fine. I accept the title.) I have to do math problems upon math problems, essay-writing, and read endless chapters of things I half understand. Fun, right? Well actually, yes. All of my professors have been entertaining enough to keep me awake, and the assignments haven’t been all that hard so far. My main goal here is to master time management. Luckily, I’ve already signed up for the upcoming SLICE workshop to help me out. Exciting stuff.

Okay, so maybe these aren’t incredibly interesting things to share, but the school year has just started. I’ll leave you guys with a few things I’ve discovered these past few weeks:

  • The chicken tenders at the Patio Café are on point.chicken tenders
  • It’s unbelievably hard to find a power outlet near a bench/chair/table.
  • It’s so fast and easy to get your student ID (so if you haven’t yet, you should!)
  • Printing is free at the computer labs (with your student ID)
  • The bookstore totally knows what’s up. The day I forgot my earphones at home, they had my back.
  • Having blue hair makes you really recognizable, which is something I like but am still getting used to.

See you next week with more updates, fellow Hawks!

-Natalia

Leave a Reply

