BA-BA-BA-BA-BA-NA-NA !

Week two of sophomore year done. I can’t even process what’s going on anymore because there’s just so much happening. During the summer all I had to do was sleep and eat. My mindset then was very different from where it is now. It was a good three months, not having to stress about homework or tests. But, I knew my fairy tale would soon end. Summer for me was pretty much focused around orientation and summer classes. Orientation would always be the highlight of my week. No matter what month we were in, a day at an orientation session would be the best feeling in the world. Speaking of orientation, UHCL had their second Hawk Launch event during the summer!

Hawk Launch is an event that creates bonds with other freshmen during a two-day event. It was loads of fun. I got to meet a big group of freshmen. Last year was when I first met some of my closest friends, Helen Nguyen and Nelly Tanori. Our one-year anniversary was Sunday, August 23. (That’s just a little fun fact for you.) It also shows how big of an impact Hawk Launch had on me and in regard to meeting new people.

11937466_943861629021240_985207277126350804_oMoving along, this was my second year representing the Yellow Team. Yellow Team 2.0 was amazing. This year was a bit different. For one, Hawk Launch was extended to two days. Second, we were unable to have some of the Hawk Games outside due to the heat wave that was blazing through Houston that day. This also led to the cancellation of the Color Fight. Although we weren’t able to go outside, we still had a blast indoors. We, of course, had to be quiet because there were still summer classes going on. There were the occasional slip-ups where I would yell “Banana!” too loud. Yes, our theme song was based around the Minions tune. It went as follows:

BA-BA-BA-BA-BA-NA-NA (x3)

POTATO- NA (x1)

GO YELLOW TEAM!!

Our team ended up getting second place, the same place as last year. Hope you all are having an amazing start to a great semester. Let’s keep up the good work and aim high, Hawks! Have a great week!

-Eric

Leave a Reply

