It’s Good to be Back!

It’s been a long summer Hawks! I’m glad to be back at it again. Eric 2.0 is in progress. For those who are new to UHCL, or do not know who I am in general, my name is Eric Yanez. I am a sophomore, and I was part of the first freshman class to attend the University of Houston – Clear Lake. I have been blogging my freshman experience since I started attending UHCL. My blogs consists of on campus events, my opinion on topics and many other situation-type-cases.

Eric1Not gonna lie. Being a sophomore feels pretty great. The main reason for this is because I’m pretty proud of myself knowing that all my hard work last year paid off. It’s not everyday someone can accomplish getting 30 or more college credit hours. I already have many topics I want to cover. I have been dying to talk about the incoming freshmen, or as I like to call them the Freshmen 2.0. Throughout the summer I would greet all of these incoming freshman. When I saw them I’d say to myself, “Wow! did I look like that last year?!” This was because I was shocked at how young they looked. I feel like I’m an old goober now.

There’s been so much that’s happened this week; I won’t be able to fit it all into one blog. I promise I’ll get all my summer experiences out to you guys!

One thing I do want to talk about in this blog is parking. I hope I don’t sound like I’m ranting, but man, parking gets terrible from one moment to another. It’s like our cars reproduce at breakneck speed. I used to be able to arrive on campus at 8:30 a.m. and get one of the first parking spots, but now it feels like I have to take a walk through the desert. On the bright side, we do have more students through the halls of UHCL. I’m not gonna lie, I do miss the peace and quiet, but having more students makes UHCL feel more like a four-year university. The newfreshmen are like the sprinkles on an ice-cream sundae.

Speaking of having more interaction on campus, did anyone see how big of a success we had with the Welcome Back Bash!? This year’s Welcome Back Bash was better than last year’s. It just felt more alive. There was way more to do and having it outside with the trees and nature preserve just made it a well-rounded event. They had a dunking booth and even water pong! Shout out to Bianca Salinas for being the champion!

A year ago I couldn’t have imagined UHCL as upbeat as it is now. There’s just more noise, and that isn’t a bad thing. Everyone was talking about the bash. I got to see many of the people I had to orientate during the summer. I hope my brain isn’t all over the place as there’s still so much I want to cover. I hope everyone had a great first week of classes! Until next week, Hawks!

-Eric

Leave a Reply

