My Freshman Year: A Year of Self-Discovery

On my first day of my freshman year, I cried while I was walking to my first class. I wasn’t crying because I was scared, but because I was a first generation college student and I felt very proud. I didn’t know what to expect, but I remained optimistic. Next school year, I am going to be a sophomore. I am going to be taking a whole new course load that will challenge my brain even further. I heard it only gets harder. I hope it gets easier. Only time will tell. Oh gosh I hope it gets easier.

Joining the Hawk Leadership Institute was one of the best decisions I have ever made. My success coaches Robin Aleman, Julie Brenengen, Jennifer Clark, and Jayme Tiemann are all very influential women in my life. Our relationships will only grow over the years and I am grateful to know that I have them for a support system. In college, I have to be responsible and get all my work done on time, but when I was with my success coaches and my HLI peers I was able to relax and feel like less of an adult. They referred to us as their “babies,” and it soothed me since it made me feel like it was okay to make mistakes and the pressure was off. Through this program I was able to find myself. I learned that leadership isn’t about how many followers you have, it is about how many leaders you create. Leadership is about making a difference and giving back to your community. I plan to remain in the Hawk Leadership Institute and now it is time to invite others into our organization. I can be a mentor to the incoming freshman because I have already gone through the stresses of personal and school life.

After having been inducted into the National Society of Leadership and Success, I have decided to run for council and landed the Secretary position. From what I have heard, it isn’t an easy position and requires a lot of effort, but I know I can handle it. I can already see it now, secretary this year, vice president my junior year and president for my senior year.

This year was not a walk in the park. I have had a few breakdowns due to all the academic stress, but I somehow managed to get through it. My most informative classes were Learning Frameworks, Comp I and II, and my Speech classes. Not only were these classes informative, but the women who taught them inspired me in some way. In high school, I never had a favorite teacher. In college, Dr. Wanalee Romero, Dr. Lorie Jacobs, and Dr. Diana Bowen are by far my favorite professors. I can say these women have taught me something new about academics and about myself. Dr. Wanalee Romero showed me how to think critically, and now I question everything, even myself which has allowed me to improve. Dr. Lorie Jacobs has called me a great writer numerous times and that has helped me gain confidence as a writer. Dr. Bowen taught me about the different aspects of public speaking and believes I am a good public speaker. I know I am a good public speaker and each time I speak in public it gets a bit easier. I can sense the sincerity from all of these women, they love what they do which made me love learning. Thank you all.

I would like to say I am looking forward to a long summer break, but I decided to take three summer classes. I would rather work hard now than later. This blog is the last blog of my freshman year. Blogging has allowed me to self-reflect and come to a deeper understanding about the world and within myself.

All in all, this year has been an amazing one. I have experienced so much and still have so much more to witness. I love the University of Houston – Clear Lake. I hope everyone reading this has a great summer. Till next time folks!

-Bianca

One thought on “My Freshman Year: A Year of Self-Discovery

  1. Dr R

    I am so very proud of you, Bianca! Wait–that means that you were crying while you were walking into my class! Well, you have everything to be proud about–first gen, unite! So glad that I get to continue to watch you soar,

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

