The end is near

I noticed how fast these weeks have gone, but it hasn’t hit me until now. The first freshman class will no longer be the babies of the university and it is only going to get harder. The pressure is on, and I am ready for anything this university has in store for me. There is so much more to learn and new experiences to witness. The only thing I am worried about at this point is passing my finals. Well, of course, I am going to pass, but I hope I am able to maintain my GPA.

biancaOver the weekend, I attended the 37th Annual Student Leadership Banquet and received my certificate for completing all the rigorous requirements of the Hawk Leadership Institute. It felt great receiving my award because at the beginning there was 18 of us in the group and only 12 of us made it to the end. All of our thoughts on leadership have grown and improved over the course of the year and now it is time for the next step. I will definitely be involved with the Hawk Leadership Institute next year. This year was full of self-reflection and development and now it is time for manifestation and clarity. The requirements are not set in stone for year two of HLI, but so far we are going to be required to be an orientation leader or an officer of any organization. We will also act as mentors for the new students coming into HLI next year. I am already an orientation leader, so I have that covered, and I can’t wait to meet the next round of HLI students.

Seeing many of my peers accepting their awards was a satisfying feeling. It motivated me to want to work harder and get my name out there. I promised myself that next year I will be accepting more than two awards. There is no “if’s”, “and’s”, or “but’”s about it. I am just warming up.

It is official, I will be inducted into the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS) on May 2. I have also applied for two officer positions for the society, and I hope I land one of them. If I get elected for the secretary position or the new member orientation chair I will be satisfied. It is time to put all my words into action and hold a position in a student organization. It is a lot of pressure, but I know I can do anything I set my mind to.

-Bianca

Leave a Reply

