One step at a time

Getting steps closer to the end of the semester, all I can think about is next semester. I’m anxious to start school in the fall once again. There are many things I cannot wait for such as seeing where else I can get involved. One of the main things that I am most excited about is the incoming freshman class. I am really hoping this year there are more changes on campus. I want to see the atmosphere change with more and more young people attending the university. Change doesn’t happen over night, but I’m hoping it happens soon.

ericEven with the year ending, it won’t be the end of school for me because I registered for summer classes already. I know I won’t do much during the summer anyway, so this will give me something to do while getting college credit. I know there are still so many things I need to figure out about the college life, but for now I’m just going to take things one step at a time.

This past weekend was the Student Leadership Banquet held at the Houston Space Center. I have been looking forward to it for quite sometime, and needless to say it was worth every penny. I loved the exhibits that were open for us to see. NASA just looks cooler at night. It was great seeing everyone dress up and share his or her accomplishments with the university. As for me, I feel blessed and honored to have been awarded Emerging Leader of the Year. I thank everyone that was a part of this accomplishment. It means so much I have the award hanging in my room. This was the first of many more I hope to receive. By the end of my four years at UHCL, I’m hoping to have a whole wall dedicated to awards. As I sat in the auditorium and heard the names being called out, I felt like I was at the Grammys. I felt like a superstar when I heard my name called out. Like Taylor Swift walking down the isle to receive her Grammy. It truly was a memorable moment in my life.

That is all for this week, Hawks! Be sure to keep studying for finals!

-Eric

Leave a Reply

