An adventurous weekend at Camp Cho-Yeh

Hey there, Hawks! We are nearing the end of the spring semester. It has been a crazy last few weeks with events and homework. Nonetheless we still have to make time for some fun.

ericThis weekend was the long awaited orientation retreat with all current orientation leaders being part of this fun moment. It was packed with information and teamwork builders. We grew as a team and as a family. I am feeling really good about this group of orientation leaders. The process in selecting them was not easy. There were many great candidates, but in the end not everyone could be selected.

Camp Cho-Yeh in Livingston, Texas, was such an amazing place to train. The lush green forests and gorgeous weather was a beautiful sight. I had never gone camping, but after my experience this past weekend I’m hoping my mom will send me off to summer camp. We had to do a lot of planning in the retreat and it was not easy. There were hours upon hours of planning, so everything would run smoothly and all that planning paid off because everything was a success.

As I presented information to the team, I felt I had grown as a leader and was so proud of that. If someone told me that I would be presenting to a group of college students about orientation training, I would’ve said, “You’re crazy.” Now I know that anything is possible. We did many fun activities such as a glow dance party! And we had a campfire social. Both of which were super fun. I may not wobble that well, but I do know how to have fun. The campfire social was also a great event. Many people, including myself, had never had s’mores. I had about five before I got tired of them. I’m excited to see where this orientation team goes. I know we will have great orientation sessions!

That’s all for this week, Hawks! Be sure to study for finals that are coming up!

-Eric

Leave a Reply

