I am working so hard

Twelve weeks into the semester and I could not be more relieved. I have so many major assignments due, but I am taking it day and day and the weight is slowly being lifted off my shoulders. I have an Orientation Leader Retreat this weekend, the 37th Annual Student Leadership Banquet next week, and then finals. I am so devastated the chili cook-off was rescheduled, because now I will not be able to attend since I have a retreat to go to. You all have no idea how excited I was to try 28 different chilies.

biancaI wish I was great at science and at math, but it is not my cup of tea. This past week I had an Astronomy exam and I totally forgot until the night before and immediately started to study. I was not looking forward to the exam since last time I received a 68 after actually trying. This time I earned a 79, which was surprisingly one of the highest in the class. Maybe the sciences are my cup of tea. Hmmm. Maybe not.

I have finally finished all my requirements for the National Society of Leadership and Success, so I will be inducted May 2nd. How exciting! This is truly meaningful for me, because not only will it look great on my resume it has also helped mold me into the person I am today. I have also completed all my requirements for the Hawk Leadership Institute and will be accepting an award at the Student Leadership Banquet. This award means a great deal to me, because I have not won an award since elementary school. I am actually being recognized for my efforts and it feels so great. I just found out I have been nominated for a new category named “Emerging Leader of the Year”. Some people actually took the time to think of me and nominate me for this award. I am so grateful to have my accomplishments be known, it is such a warm feeling. 🙂

Everything in school is handy and dandy, but life outside of bianca2school is starting to affect me. I see other people my age who have full time jobs, have their own car, own apartment, and their own money. I can’t work more than twenty hours without having a mental breakdown and it is frustrating because I want my own things. I am moving out of my mother’s house and into my own apartment with my cousin, Robert and I am pretty excited. But there are some downfalls. I was not able to receive any financial aid for the summer so now I have to pay $1158 for a class and a lab. It’s absolutely crazy how much fees come along with a semester term. The classes alone are $600 and now I have to worry about paying that off, because I really do not want to fall behind and need to graduate in four years. But if I am living on my own, that means I have to work more. Reality is setting in and all I can do is continue to work hard and save as much money as possible. Hopefully this all works out.

-Bianca

One thought on “I am working so hard

Leave a Reply

