I’m no Shakira, but I try my hardest

Happy spring break, Hawks! We all deserve a break after mid-term catastrophe. I had the worst mid-term freak out ever — assignment after assignment — it was like a never-ending pile of essays. I don’t know how I managed to survive the battle. As I have stated before, breaks go by so fast. They never last. It’s like I do something to chase them away.

During the break, I still went to school for half of the week. Not for classes or anything, but for Hawk Guide meeting because preparing for Chili Cook Off is serious business. There is so much to do. I also noticed we don’t have too much time before the event arrives. I’m sure the Orientation and New Student Programs office will come out on top. One can only hope so.

ericWe also had to go to Sam’s Club with Sara Khalifa during the break for snacks to take on our retreat. Spending money on food is my specialty so I’m glad I was of value. Not only was I at school for meetings and shopping, there was also dance practice for the Cultural Extravaganza coming up this Saturday. Who knew I could dance? Well, I sort of can. I’m no Shakira, but I try my hardest. Learning dance moves that you thought you already knew is very confusing. It just makes it a bigger challenge. I know that our team will do great out there. We practice a lot and even though I can’t make it to all the rehearsals I still manage to keep up to date on the routine. I haven’t just learned to dance, but I realized that managing time is essential to work as a team. I hope all you Hawks can come and cheer us on. I don’t want to say too much because then it will ruin the performance.

We are halfway through the semester, let’s pull through and finish what we started. It is still so shocking how I’m almost done with my first year as a freshman at UHCL. It is mind blowing. Nonetheless we can do it Hawks! We must have determination. The end is near! That is all for this week, Hawks. I hope you all had a great spring break and keep up the studying. Good luck Hawks!

-Eric

Leave a Reply

