Baby, come back! You can blame it all on me!

I cannot believe how fast Spring break went. If only school weeks could go by just as fast. As I update my planner, I notice how fast these last weeks of school will go. Essays, discussions, assessments, and quizzes all due one after another and I have no choice but to get it done.

The Hawk Leadership Institute (HLI) has been a safety net for me. My success coaches: Julie Brenengen, Jayme Tiemann, Robin Aleman and Jennifer Clark have all encouraged and supported my peers and myself to do better in school and in life. Robin and Julie refer to us as their “babies,” and in a way it comforts me because it gives me room to make mistakes. It allows me remain a teenager in an adult world. Being in this organization has helped me grow as a person and as a leader of my community. Being alongside others who have the same mindset as me is such a relief. We all took a step in the right direction when we decided to apply for HLI and are all growing, together. As I grow, I become more adamant that I need to make a difference in this world and it is happening slowly but surely.

I had an interview with Sara Khalifa, coordinator for orientation and new student programs, to become an orientation leader for the next school year and I really hope I earned the position. I will find out on Monday, March 22 in the SSCB lobby. No pressure or anything, but I will be disappointed if I don’t get it. I love this university and I want the chance to get others just as excited as I was when I began my college career. If it’s meant to be then it will. Fingers crossed.

biancaDuring my break, I attended a Foster Orientation workshop at the League City Animal Shelter in hopes of fostering a dog until I could find it a home. I have been taking care of Leana for four days and I think I am falling in love. She is mixed with chihuahua, but I have never met one that was so calm. She is only a puppy, but knows she is supposed to urinate on the puppy pads. I was so impressed! That almost never happens. She loves to cuddle, but listens when you tell her she cannot sleep on the bed. She is pretty obedient and has no problem with sleeping inside of her kennel. She enjoys comfort so her future owner has to make sure she has a blanket in her kennel. Hopefully, I can find her a great home.

During the school year, I had been invited to the President’s Cabinets Breakfast and Dinner and recently I received an invitation to the 2015 Report to the Community Breakfast this Thursday, March 26. I am not as nervous as I once was. During the breakfast, I will have the opportunity to mingle with community leaders, donors, partners and university administration. 🙂

I find it absolutely amazing how much I have changed in the duration of one year. I did the bare minimum in high school and my achievement list has grown more in this time frame of being a freshman than in my entire life. The University of Houston – Clear Lake has given me so many opportunities to reach my goals of success and I am so grateful that I decided to become a hawk. The possibilities are endless.

-Bianca

Leave a Reply

