“You’re the only Hawkty I see”

Round two of midterms are coming up. I honestly am not worried at all because I think I have this whole college thing figured out. Well, at least for the meantime.

This past week was pretty negative. I had so many noodle days. These are days where I don’t feel like doing anything, which wasn’t so good because I had quite a bit of assignments due. Luckily I still managed to get them done on time. I felt like a superhero saving the day with a five-page essay.

I want to talk about procrastination this week. It is a skill, that if mastered correctly, will still not work in your favor. I should know. Sure laying in bed with nice cup of coffee sounds nice, but being productive on work is something better. Netflix and season five of Pretty Little Liars won’t get your essay done.

Some ways to avoid getting distracted from technology is simple. Turn it off! Although this may not be easy for some, it is the main thing that causes distractions. Once you finish a paragraph of your essay, reward yourself with checking one notification. If you’re the type of person that likes food, reward yourself with a snack instead. Learning to lessen the urge to procrastinate will help everyone in the long run. I honestly wish procrastination never existed.

ericAnother topic I would like to touch on this week is friends. Many of us are really comfortable with the people we hang out with. Socializing with new people and hanging out with them gives you a better perspective on the types of people at UHCL. There are so many people to meet and not everyone is the same. One of my New Year’s resolution goals was to meet over half of the entire school by the end of the year. I know this is probably a difficult goal, but, hey, we all have to set our standards high. Some really simple conversations starters are:

“Are you as stressed as I am?”

“Hi, I’m about to have a mental breakdown from school, what about you?” or the classic “Are you from UHCL because you’re the only Hawkty I see.”

Whether these work or not, at least you tried and they would see your effort and then maybe end up becoming best friends forever with you. These are just some simple ways to enjoy the college life.

That’s it for this week Hawks, and remember study and meet new friends. I challenge each one of you to make at least one new friend by the end of this week. Good luck!

-Eric

Leave a Reply

