Is This Semester Finished Yet?

Is this semester finished yet? I’m hoping Spring Break approaches rapidly. I feel so stressed, and I have to keep reminding myself it will all be worth it in the end. I didn’t have too much work this week, and that makes me nervous because I feel like I’m forgetting something. It’s almost too good to be true. Every day this past week I have questioned my college career. Why am I here? Why does college have to be so stressful? In high school, I did the bare minimum and still made the top 25% of my class. Now I’m lucky if I get the chance to hang out with my friends outside of school.

I’ve been working out more, so I can alleviate some of my stress. It feels great making my daily goals and I’m grateful that I had the motivation to work out four times this week. I may not be where I want to be in my weight loss journey, but I am a step closer each day. It’s great to take time out of my day and work on myself. It was so relieving attending a Time and Stress Management Workshop this past Friday to get some advice on how to maintain my sanity. The Counseling Service Center provides a great resource to go to when we are feeling out of character.

bianca1Family and friends are the main reason to live, and they push us to do better even when we fail to believe in ourselves. My boyfriend, Ibrahim Bouras-Saiah, has been a total lifesaver for me this school year. I honestly don’t know how I could keep it all together if he wasn’t here by my side. It’s so comforting to know that there are people in this world who love you and support you. I’ve cried a few times this semester because of all the homework I have been assigned, but none of that seems to matter when I’m with those who care about me. It’s important to take time out of your day to share moments with those who you call family. I’m not going through college to make tons of money, I am going through college to educate myself and give back to those who motivated me. I’ve promised those closest to me that I will take care of them when I am set in my life.

Events at UHCL:

  • Career Week: Resume Rally on Feb. 23 from 1– 4 p.m. in the Garden Room. Bring a printed copy of your resume and have actual employers critique them for you.
  • Table Tennis on Feb. 24 at 2 p.m. in the Student Lounge
  • Black History Month: Afraid of the Dark on Feb. 26 at 4 p.m. in the Garden Room
  • Selma movie premiere on Feb. 28 at 7 p.m. in the Lecture Hall

-Bianca

Leave a Reply

