The Possibilities are Endless

This week was very productive, and I am so glad it’s over. Four weeks of school down and fourteen more to go. It’s kind of discouraging to look at it that way, but I’m looking how far I have come this academic year. It’s almost too much to fathom thinking that I will walk across a stage one day to receive my bachelor’s degree in communication. I already have graduation stoles and cords lined up, but I still have so much more to accomplish. It’s kind of nerve-wracking to think that I still have so much more that I have to experience, more situations that get my heart rate going up. Does it ever get easier?

I had my President’s Cabinets Dinner this week, and I felt so vulnerable for some reason. I was really overthinking it, but as soon as I arrived my nerves were at ease. I wasn’t the only student, but I was the only freshman. I figured if I said or did something wrong it was okay because I am a freshman. I still have room to make mistakes. It was such an honor to have been invited to this dinner. I hope I made a great impression.

bianca

On Friday, I had the privilege to have lunch with my peers of the Hawk Leadership Institute, Dr. Darlene Biggers and Dr. William Staples. It’s great to gain perspective from those who have been there and done that. Dr. Staples and Dr. Biggers shared stories from their journeys to leadership and I felt inspired to have heard their words. I believe it is pretty amazing how Dr. Biggers and Dr. Staples have been involved with this campus for so many years because it has progressed every single year. We are the first freshmen on this campus and we are setting the bar high for other generations to come. I love every single aspect of UHCL and I can see myself being influenced and influencing this campus greatly. True leaders help mold future leaders and those are the intentions of every staff member involved with this university. I can sense it.

Events coming up @ UHCL:

  • My Life Sucks Workshop: Renovating Relationships on Feb. 18 @ 5:30 p.m. in SSCB 3.103 Counseling Services
  • Hip-Hop Politics & Activism on Feb. 18 @ 3:00 p.m. in the Bayou Building Garden Room
  • Black Student Association Poetry Slam on Feb. 19 @ 7:00 p.m. in the Bayou Building Forest Room
  • “White Like Me” Film on Feb. 20 @ 7:00 p.m. in the SSCB Lecture Hall
  • Time and Stress Mangement Workshop on Feb. 20 from 1:00 – 3:00 p.m. in SSCB 3311. Be sure to sign up in advance!

-Bianca

Leave a Reply

