Time to get involved, Hawks!

This semester is already going by faster than the first. So many events, assignments, and experiences to witness and learn from. I have so many things going on and to be honest it is pretty nerve wrecking. I’m trying to remain as organized as possible, so I won’t overload myself with information. I already know I will need to take a long walk along UHCL’s Claghorn Hiking Trail to blow off some steam. Pretty soon my agenda will be completely booked. I am taking five classes, I have two jobs, and pretty soon will be involved in two organizations. No pressure, right? SIKE! I don’t feel overwhelmed just yet, but I know I will once midterms come around. All I can do is hope for the best. This will be a great year.

bianca1This past Friday I got to spend some time with my fellow HLI family, and I feel closer to them after this meeting. I love that we are all in this together and are learning leadership skills from one another and from our success coaches. You all shall be seeing more and more of us around this semester. We will be the group everyone wants to join. Keep your eyes peeled for the 2015 applications into the Hawk Leadership Institute. 🙂

(Photo Credit: Robin Aleman. Playing ‘Going going gone’ with Cynthia Sanchez & Madison Stults.)

Hawk Leadership Institute Mission Statement:

The Hawk Leadership Institute cultivates skills such as teamwork, optimism, and integrity that extend beyond campus-life into the real world by improving our lives and the lives of others.

I visited UHCL’s Student Org Expo last Wednesday and I was having some trouble deciding which student organization I will like to be a part of, so I took as many flyers as possible. I’m leaning towards the National Society of Leadership and Success because I received an invitation, and I believe it will be extremely beneficial in the long run. If you attended the expo and didn’t find what you were looking for, just create your own club! All you need is a minimum of five members. Just visit the Student Organization Recognition page and complete the necessary information or you can visit Patrick Cardenas in the Student Life Office. If you didn’t have a chance to attend, just Contact an Organization and get all the information you need from any of the recognized clubs. Remember, a degree does not guarantee you a job. So try to get involved as possible to build up your credentials and help your community! A great way to receive volunteer hours while being involved in campus life is to become an Orientation Leader. Look over the requirements and see if you are interested. All I need to do is turn it in and hope I am selected. The deadline is midnight Feb. 20. Don’t let this opportunity pass you up!

The month of February is packed with events! Be sure to check out @UHCLBlogger on Twitter for the latest updates on school events. Have a great week, Hawks!

-Bianca

Leave a Reply

