Excited to Learn More

It hasn’t even been a full year since I have graduated. Second semester of my freshman year and I am not afraid or nervous this time around. I feel prepared and even excited to learn something new. I left 2014 with a 3.375 GPA and I know at this point I can only get better. The year of 2014 was onebianca1 of the best years of my life, my eighteenth year of living. Transitioning from high school to college was such an eye opener and I know my journey is still in its infancy.

Coming into 2015 really affected me because I know as time goes by I stray further and further away from my parents. Is anyone ever really prepared to branch out on their own? Spending time with my family becomes more important to me as they get older. My sister Amber, my niece Jocelyn, my grandmother and my mother are the most beautiful women in my life and everything I am doing now is mainly for them. Four generations in one picture.

Over the break, I had a birthday. I am now nineteen years old and I do feel different. I know Ibianca2 am still very young, but I cherish my years and it sort of hurt me to know I was no longer eighteen. I spent the day with the ones closest to me and I wouldn’t have changed it for the world. As we enter a new year, I also entered into another phase within my personal life. My partner, Ibrahim, finally met my family and it was such a wonderful feeling to have all my loved ones together. I’m so excited to see what this year has in store.

I went on a road trip to Austin, Texas with a couple of friends just because I could. We visited the state capital, walked through all of downtown and visited local landmarks. It was very interesting visiting another city and meeting new people. One of my new year’s resolution is to travel more. It’s only right to start off with the major cities in Texas. I’m thinking San Antonio for my next road trip. I have visited San Antonio, but never without my mother so that is definitely something to look forward to!bianca4

I hung out with my peers of the Hawk Leadership Institute during a retreat at Armand Bayou. We spent the whole day together and I felt closer to them by the time we departed ways. I feel comforted to know that our group will spend more quality time together, and we were all on the same page when we realized we all wanted to reach out to our community. We all have the same mindsets, and there is no stopping us from making a difference.

bianca3

 

My year has been off to a great start, and I feel at ease knowing I am only taking thirteen credit hours this semester. I’ve learned from my mistakes, and my organizational skills will be in full affect so I do not ever fall behind. I wish all of my fellow hawks a great year and much success!

— Bianca

Leave a Reply

