Until next time folks !

I am so relieved this semester is coming to an end. It’s almost surreal. I’ve been working so hard this entire semester, and I know it will all be worth it once I receive my grades. I am very grateful to be part of the UHCL community, and I can feel the support. I feel very connected with this university, and I’ve learned so much this semester.

All my teachers were great! The ones that stood of the most to me were my Psych 1100 and Writing 1301 teachers: Dr. Wanalee Romero and Dr. Lorie Jacobs. I enjoyed their classes the most, and I love their energy. Dr. Romero is an amazing woman who always tries to engage the class to participate in group discussions, and I can feel her energy when she talks to us. I was a part of her first class at UHCL, and she encouraged us not to be strangers and I will not.

When I walked into Writing 1301 at the beginning of the year, I completely dreaded it. I looked at writing as a way to create stress, not relieve it, but as the semester went on I began to love it. I realized in order to communicate my message; I have to learn how to communicate it. I completed my assignments as they were assigned, and it really brought up my confidence when Dr. Jacobs told me she had faith in me. She told me I was a good writer, and I just had to work a little harder to develop my skill and that motivated me. On my first profile essay I received a D+ and that really brought down my confidence, but she assured me it was okay because we still had a chance to revise it at the end of the semester. On my second ethnography essay, I received a B+ and on my last proposal essay I received an A-. You do not understand how happy I was to see myself improve. I’m glad Dr. Jacobs was there for me and the Writing Center as well. I’m looking forward to taking Writing 1302 with Dr. J next semester!

At this rate, I expect four A’s and two B’s. I will have my wonderful teachers, my boyfriend and myself to thank for the support. I came into this semester with a strong mindset, and I will dominate next semester. I am now so much more confident because as a first generation college student I’m doing a damn good job.

Over the break I plan to volunteer my time at the League City Animal Shelter and relax as much as possible. My birthday is Jan. 7, and I plan on having an awesome party with my family members and friends because I deserve it.

I hope you all have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. Thank you all for reading my blogs and keeping up with my experience at UHCL. Until next time folks. 🙂

-Bianca

Leave a Reply

