Freshman are making a change at UHCL, a good change.

The end is near, Hawks. Thanksgiving is just around the corner. It’s the time of the year where everyone stuffs their bellies with turkey and other goodies. Family and friends gather together to be thankful for what they have.

This year, just like every other year, my mom makes Thanksgiving dinner. Her turkey recipe is delicious. I gobble up that turkey in seconds. As the semester comes to an end, so are the stressful nights and cramming the days before a test.

Orientation sessions are getting closer and that is what I’m waiting for. Being a Hawk Guide is the best thing ever even though it does come with a lot of responsibilities. I’m being eased into it, so the training really does help me. Everyone in the Orientation and New Student Programs is amazing. They’re all very friendly and helpful with helping know what I’m supposed to be doing.

This past week I went to a Bible study group and it was an amazing experience. They are trying to become an organization, and I think it’s a great idea. The people behind the idea are freshmen as well, which I personally think is great. Freshman are making a change at UHCL, but a good change.

They were so friendly and taught me a lot I didn’t know. For their Global Expo they’re doing a Christmas booth and will be handing out Santa cookies. It’s a cookie that has coconut for his beard; chocolate chips for eyes; glitter and a marshmallow for his hat. I would know all of that because I was one of the people who made them. All day Saturday we spent seven hours baking and decorating Santa cookies. It was a blast at first, but after a while it got tiring. We didn’t bake 100, or 200 cookies, but 300! It was insane. The apartment looked like a baking tornado had gone through. I got so tired my hands were about to fall off. It was worth it though. The cookies tasted like heaven. It was something I would like to cross out of my bucket list. I have no idea why I had that on my bucket list, but it’s on there.

eric1Another interesting thing that I learned this past week is that I was in the Galveston Daily newspaper. I was shocked at first; I felt famous. I hope all the Galveston residents loved my wonderful face. The story of the article was about the Welcome Back Bash. It was a bit of a flashback Friday for me. I miss all the past events such as Welcome Back Bash. I honestly want it to be there next year again, so I can repeat the cycle. This coming week is our second and final training for orientation in the spring. I know it will be a ton of fun. This is going to be a busy week, but I’ve gotten through college, well so far so let’s hope for the best. Have a great week! Hawks! Good luck with finals and have a happy thanks giving!

-Eric

Leave a Reply

