Nostalgia

bianca1I’ll always remember my high school graduation. My close family members were in town to celebrate my commencement. Six hundred of my peers and I were off to start the next chapters in our lives. Walking out into the arena was beyond surreal. Seeing my family members screaming out my name was one of the greatest feelings I’ve had. It was such a beautiful and warm feeling. My close friends and I were all going to different schools, but we explained to one another we would always love each other. We promised to reunite in the future. It was crazy how many of us didn’t make it to the finish line. It was one of the greatest accomplishments for me, because I know a lot of people who didn’t receive their high school diploma. I’ve always been good in school and studying came naturally for me. I could have done a lot more in high school, but I still ranked in the top 25% of my class. Being accepted to UHCL was another one of my greatest accomplishments. Most of my family members didn’t receive their high school diploma let alone go to college, so all of this is still so new to me. I’ve grown so much in a short amount of time, and I learn something new every single day. I’m grateful that I have teachers who want me to succeed and are handing me all the tools I need in life. I signed up for the 18th Annual Student Leadership Conference on November 8. You all should sign up as well. It’s free for UHCL students. Come and participate in the activities, the leadership exploration, and listen to motivational speaker, Joshua Fredenburg. I’m looking forward to gaining community service and leadership development hours during the event. Registration deadline is this Friday, October 31. Hope to see you all there! bianca2

I finally had my meeting with Jason Boothe at the Career Services Center this previous Wednesday. He was very informative and recommends I attend Career Discovery workshops to figure out if communications is the route I want to take. So, that’s definitely something to look forward to. Freshman year is the time to focus on my GPA and learn about potential jobs in my chosen field. Career Services and UHCL American Marketing Association invited me to attend Marketing and Management Networking Night on Nov. 5 in the Garden Room. I guess it’s time to step out of my comfort zone and get to networking!

-Bianca

Leave a Reply

