From pumpkin patches to dancing Bollywood style

Welcome back fellow Hawks. This past week has been one of the most fun weeks I’ve had at the University of Houston Clear-Lake. Two main events this past week were the orientation leader training session and the Diwali festival.

I’m going to start off with the orientation leader training session. I met more great people. A lot of the exercises they did I had done before in past events hosted by organizations like SLICE. Even though I knew how to do the exercises, it was still fun doing them with different Hawks. I did get the great opportunity to become a Hawk Guide. I was ecstatic when I received the news. I know it will be a lot of work, but I’m willing to give it my all. I want to be the best Hawk Guide I can become. We also did skits, and those were hilarious. I’m excited for the next training session already. The incoming students are going to love UHCL.

ericThis week there was also the pumpkin pictures. Pumpkins are what make fall so festive. During the pictures, I just wanted to hug the pumpkin and take it home. I’ve been dying to carve a pumpkin for so many years. Pumpkins aren’t only good for carving, but also for eating. I don’t mean raw pumpkin. I mean pumpkin pie. I know Thanksgiving is still a little ways away, but I go to Wal-Mart every two weeks to buy pumpkin pie. Nothing is as good as home made pumpkin pie.

I’m also craving Indian food that they gave out at Diwali. Funny story is that we (Helen Ngyuen, Nelly Tanori and I) weren’t even planning on going to Diwali (an Indian light festival). We were actually planning on going to a haunted house, but plans changed. We weren’t dressed for the event properly, which made us freak out. Wearing casual clothes to Diwali is kind of embarrassing. We decided to go spend the money we would’ve spent at the haunted house on an outfit. Good call because I was looking as good as an Abercrombie model. I’m so glad we went there instead. I haven’t had that much fun in years. I never dance, and yet I was busting my moves out on the dance floor. I didn’t know how to dance, but I tried following the other Hawks that knew how. I’m pretty sure half the time I was doing girl moves, but I didn’t care it was a blast. All that dancing was my exercise for the month. Man, am I athletic or what? I’m for sure going to Diwali next year. This past week I took pictures with pumpkins, went to my first orientation leader training, and learned how to dance Indian style. I couldn’t have asked for a better week.

-Eric

Leave a Reply

