“Be the change you want to see in the world.”

This week during my 8 a.m. Monday class, Robin Aleman, president of Be The Match®, told us her organization was on campus. Be The Match® is a foundation that recruits potential bone marrow donors for patients with life threatening diseases such abianca1s leukemia or lymphoma. Robin always expresses her passion in everything she says, so I was really excited to be a part of it. It was really simple. I just had to complete some paperwork, and then get my mouth swabbed. One small step for me could lead to saving someone’s life. How great is that? I really hope I am called upon to donate. Bone marrow needs to be a genetic match for recipients, so I decided that was even more of a reason to get tested. I could be that one person to help out a fellow Latino. For those of you who attended, we are changing the world together. For those of you who didn’t attend, but still want to make a difference visit Be The Match and see how you could change the world.

I was beyond excited when I found out I didn’t have to attend two of my classes this week. I got to sleep in longer than usual is truly a blessing. Although I got a lot of work done this week, towards the middle of the week I felt really down. I don’t know what it was. I just didn’t have much energy and it drained me even more because I couldn’t get my work done. I didn’t know where to start because I felt like everything was due at the same time. I took a deep brbianca 2eath, wrote down what I needed to get done, and then prioritized the list. I isolated myself from my cell phone and my family, locked my door, let the natural light inside and began listening to meditation music. I took big deep breaths and really focused on my physical existence in my room. After I found my inner balance, I made myself some baked chicken, brown rice and veggies. I was now finally at peace and started doing my work. I made sure to read out loud to really grasp the concepts within the book. I was reading for my humanities class and began to do my work. Slowly but surely, I began checking assignments off my list. Such a relief! I am now back on track.

As for my personal goal at weight loss. I’ve already faced minor setbacks, but my diet is improving. I’ve been eating breakfast at home. I’ll bring my lunch to school and a snack, so I can control my appetite. I made sure to workout at least three times a week and was successful. I did slip up and eat a deep dish cholocate chip cookie from the bookstore and I had no regrets. I went to Texas Roadhouse and ordered a 10 oz steak with mash potatoes and fries, and I thought to myself “Why would I ever want to give this up?!” My diet isn’t perfect, but if it was that simple everyone would be in shape. I’ll eventually get on track. Till next time Hawks!

-Bianca

One thought on ““Be the change you want to see in the world.”

  1. Robin Aleman

    Thank you so much for signing up to save a life and for being an example to others. You are right that you could save another Latino’s life somewhere, and if you wouldn’t have signed up they might not have found a match. You never know who you might be able to help in life if you never try.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

